Back-to-back: McMaster repeats as Yates Cup champions

Brandon Meawasige
November 10, 2012
This article was published more than 2 years ago.
Est. Reading Time: 1 minute

A late interception by cornerback Steven Ventresca all but closed the curtain on the 105th Yates Cup on Saturday. For the second straight season, the McMaster Marauders are provincial champions. The victory also marks the first time that the trophy has been lifted at Ron Joyce stadium. The final score was 30-13, bringing Mac's record on the season to 10-0.

In addition to the OUA title repeat, Mac also set a CIS record for consecutive victories with 20, a mark previously held by the 2004-2005 Laval Rouge et Or.

Defense was the story for the Maroon and Grey as they picked off Guelph’s second-year sensation, quarterback Jazz Lindsey, three times.

Receiver Michael DiCroce continued to impress, as McMaster’s leading receiver in the game. Tailback Kasean Davis made his return to the field from injury, sharing carries with Tanner Forsyth for a strong team rushing performance.

Mac will now move on to the Mitchell Bowl, where they'll play the University of Calgary Dinos, who beat Regina in Saturday's Hardy Cup game out west.

In what has been a record-breaking season for the Marauders, there is room for even more history.

The sell-out crowd of 5,427 at Ron Joyce made sure to honor their team, rushing the field as the clock wound down. A large crowd congregated at centre field after the game as fireworks were set off atop Hedden Hall.

The celebration must be short lived, as the Vanier Cup is once again within arms reach.

Subscribe to our Mailing List

© 2024 The Silhouette. All Rights Reserved. McMaster University's Student Newspaper.